Setting Powder Mistake!

So…….I absolutely love the Nars Light Reflecting Loose Setting Powder.  It is so finely milled and makes the skin feel super soft, blurring imperfections well too.

When buffed onto the skin and blended well, there is no problem at all, and personally haven’t had an issue with flash photography when used in this way.

However……this is a white powder!

I was setting my makeup for a social dance event, during which I would be dancing all night, taking part in a showcase dance plus helping set up for the event so I needed my makeup to last.

I thought I would have a go at the ‘Baking’ technique whereby you apply concealer under the eye, then use a loose powder, heavily applied over the concealer to ‘bake’ the concealer.  The powder is left there for a short time then brushed away leaving a smooth, crease-free looking under-eye and fully set foundation and concealer.

I had also seen a tutorial suggesting to apply the powder with a damp sponge, so I followed this too.

To the naked eye, when I brushed off the excess, my makeup looked fine!  The next day, I was looking through photos from the night before….and oh dear!  img_5984_fotor

This image was uploaded to Facebook so was edited with as many filters as I could….I wasn’t blogging at the time or I would have saved the original, but if you look under my eyes, there we have it!  Flashback!

I must have blended the rest of my face fine as there was no ‘ghost face’ as can happen but the under eye was an issue!

 

img_5985Since these photos were taken, I went in search of a good setting powder with colour and opted for the Laura Mercier Translucent Setting powder as it is not white.  In honesty, I don’t ‘bake’ under my eyes, I tend to dust a very light amount of powder and blend it well.  I just decided to give it a go!  Powder under the eye can look awful if not done correctly….as these photos prove!  These photos are better than the originals thanks to filters!

Thanks for reading! Let me know what you think in the comments box below or on my facebook page. Follow me on Instagram: beautyandtheballroom and Twitter: @Mazzo7 xx

2 thoughts on “Setting Powder Mistake!

Leave a Reply

